Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Help at stunning 18C villa in Tuscany

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionNestling in 50 acres of olive groves, pine clad hills and gardens, Villa Michaela is a 18th century villa and boutique retreat in the Lucca foothill village of Vorno. Offering rooms on a B&B basis as well as Private Rental, Weddings, Private Events & Wellness Retreats, the Villa is a luxury Tuscan getaway retreat unlike any other.
    Just a stone’s throw from the city of Lucca, 25 mins from Pisa airport and an hour from Florence, the Villa lies in the heart of the Renaissance.
    Villa Michaela's heritage, assets and raw beauty, all set in the heart of Tuscany, will add a magical touch to your plans, whatever they may be.
    Villa Michaela, previously Villa Nottolini, and belonging to the Rhode family, is situated at the foot of the Zano mountain, only a short distance from the “pieve” of Vorno.
    The building has 3 floors and basement. The original building dates back to the 15th century, but through the years there have been many changes and the actual aspect of the Villa is that of the early 1800’s when it was purchased by the Nottolini family. The main façade is the one facing north, which has a large door with architrave and stone frames. There is also a similar entrance on the south side of the building where there is the flower garden, a pond, flowerbeds, rose gardens, paths and pergolas. The estate also includes other buildings such as the Limonaia, the building where the lemon trees were traditional stored each winter, now a beautifully decorated full service kitchen often utilized for cooking school demonstrations, the Stables (Coach House) where our wine cellar and wine tasting room is located, and the “Annunziata Chapel”, now consecrated for Anglican wedding ceremonies, which is of historic and artist interest.


    We need someone to start ASAP!
    We require help with various aspects of running a huge and old property and household duties.
    GARDENING: we have a full time gardener hirer however we might ask you sometimes to give him a hand with light work like weeding, watering plants or moving cut offs out of the garden.
    ANIMAL CARE: we have two big dogs; 11 years old Golden Retriever and 2 yers old BlackLab and sometimes we might ask you to feed them, walk them or wash them. They are both very friendly but younger one is super energetic and we need someone who isn't afraid of big dogs!
    COOKING/SHOPPING: you will help with regular groceries runs and often we will ask you to prepare breakfast (nothing difficult! just eggs, toast, cutting fruits, making coffee etc.)
    HELP WITH COMPUTER/INTERNET: if you want we would appreciate help with taking photos or videos, we will need a bit of help with printing, scanning and general use of mac and iphone
    GENERAL MAINTENANCE: all maintenance skills appreciated! There is always something to be fixed or painted here and we would love to find someone able to help with those little jobs around the villa.
    HELP IN THE HOUSE: mostly cleaning and laundry, we had a full time cleaner and we would like workawayers to help her a bit
    OTHER: we runny many events here and we would love your help with all aspects of it!
  • LocationItaly, Toscana, Provincia di Lucca, Capannori

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with computers / internet
    Helping with tourists
    Other
  • Hours per day 5 days a week, 5 hours a day, 2 days off
  • Work requirements: fluent english
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: at least 3 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english, polish, italian, french, spanish
  • Has pets? We have two big dogs, 2 years old Blacklab and 11 years old Golden retriever.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Depending on availability you will have either a single room with private bathroom at our Farm House (the room got private entrance but you will have to share the kitchen) or a double room (double bed, for single workawayer or a couple) with private bathroom either in Coach House (the owner House) or the main villa and shared kitchen/living room.
  • Additional info
  • We offer 50 euro food allowance a week plus paid over-hours.