Happy helpers needed

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Happy helpers needed

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe can take up to 4 happy helpers, depending on whether couples or okay with sharing a large bedroom or staying in a caravan. 3 meals a day in return for 5 hours work a day. Also look at host 100390 on helpx or gardening and carpentry on workaway. Very full descriptions on there. We prefer longer term people, 2 weeks or more. We're on Whatsapp on 029 777 9393. Either text or call. Not always near phone though. Sorry, no children as we have ponds they could fall into. And our dog is not too keen on them. Don't want them to be eaten!!! Lol. Lots of cats so people who love all animals are good. We are meat eaters so possibly not good for vegans, although we've had our share of vegans/vegetarians. And they have been happy here.

    First requirements - happy and hardworking, with easy going natures/personalities.
  • LocationNew Zealand, Canterbury, Loburn

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help with computers / internet
  • Hours per day Usually up to 5 hrs a day, but not every day. Depends on what we are doing. We usually work along with you.
  • Work requirements: The jobs listed. Each person perhaps has a skill we can use or perhaps they want to learn something. An experienced builder would be like gold to us. We do also like longer term people who want to just stay and get to know the area.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 2 weeks or more up to 3 months of we get on. Or longer if we REALY get on.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Not okay
  • Host
  • Languages:ENGLISH
  • Has pets? 7 cats which rule our lives 1 dog and 4 alpacas.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Either a master bedroom with own ensuite, plus a single bed in the house, or a queen size bed in a caravan with shower and toilet next to it. It's usually first in first served. Also some people prefer to be separate from our house.
  • Additional info
  • We live in an area with beautiful views, we have, and still are, carved and worked our place into a sanctuary. Thousands of plants in he form of trees, shrubs and hedges, which do need trimming. But if all the work is done and it's a lovely day, off we go on a picnic.