Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Guse gard

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe live on a mountainfarm, and is running a traditional norwegian farm on the coast of Norway.
    We are also working in the forest, by cutting trees for wood in the winter time
    Our goal is that our farm will be able to finance itself.
    On our farm you need to enjoy to be around animals, love nature, and the freedom with no neighbors nearby.
    We are living 5 minutes from the fjord. We have a boat there, and go fishing in the fjord as often we can. We also spend much of our free time on hunting in the fall. In winter, we are active in cross country skiing, including most of the winter sports are our interests. We like to walk in the mountains in both summer and winter.
  • LocationNorway, Vest-Agder, Kvinesdal

  • Work
  • Type of work We want to have someone how can help us with general farmwork, and the tasks how is need to be done for running a farm.On the farm we have a hous where people can come and stay on the farm. We arrange activitirs for the people that come and visiting the farm.
    As a volunteer, you will enjoy farm life and the animals on the farm.
    Your main task will be to take care of the animals, and make sure they are okay, help us with general farmwork, haymaking, renovations, vegetables and work with the wood/forestry and also other similar tasks. And also help a bit with the rental house, mabye arrange some activities for the people that stays there. It is an lifestyle to work and live on a farm, and the working length and tasks can vary from day to day. The animals always have first priority. You won't be bored staying on the farm.
  • Hours per day It can vary from day to day. Some time less, sometime more
  • Work requirements: Since Norway is very unstable weather, it is wise to bring some clothes that can be used in any weather. And also bring some clothes you are not afraid to get dirty on, and shoes that can be used outside.

    On our farm you get all the food from us, but if there is something special you want. You need to buy it yourself. Sometimes we put candy, soda and other goodies on the table and sheer. But do you want more, you need to buy this yourself. We dont host vegetarians
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: minimum 2 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish
  • Has pets? We have 3 dogs and 2 cats + allot of farm animals (cows, sheep, poultry, llama, pigs)
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: You get a nice room with good bed and a bathroom.
  • Additional info
  • We make dinner together. Most of the time we make the dinner, but we would love if you could make us some dishes from your country sometimes. It’s not that you MUST cook, but we love to taste dishes from other countries.