Growing organic Saffron

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Sara-Valmarecchia

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Growing organic Saffron

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionSorry, I am not hosting volunteers at the moment, due to Covid emergency.
    (ONLY families, couples or women, NO single men).

    If you want to learn basics of saffron growing, I can tell you all I know in exchange for some help picking flowers early in the morning, cleaning and drying them, and maybe sowing other plants (4 hours per day)...

    We are a peculiar family: me, my daughter, her father, grandparents, italian and foreign neighbours, friends... sometimes spread around, sometimes all together!

    I started my countryside adventure on summer 2011, when I bought a piece of forest land on central Italy hills: a lot of trees, path walks and old stones.
    I fell in love with Valmarecchia valley the first day I saw it, and I thought the land name was a kind of sign: in the local dialect, Boratoja means "with a good will"... in other words "for the ones who wants to trek" as the hill is quite steep!
    The land was abandoned since 50 years, so it was a kind of jungle with the ruins of an old stone farmhouse.

    I am running a small agricultural activity since 2015, growing biological aromatic herbs (till now mainly saffron, later on I would like to grow other culinary/medicinal plants too).

    In the future I would love to have more rooms for hosting travellers, re-animate the small village where I am living (just 5 houses + 2 empty), and hopefully transform the solo job into a group activity.

    Some interests of mine: yoga and bioenergetic therapy, medicinale wild herbs, auto-production, training dogs, backpacker travelling (before having two dogs and a baby!), hispanic languages and cultures...
  • LocationItaly, Emilia-Romagna, Provincia di Rimini

  • Work
  • Type of work Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day 4 hours a day 6 days a week, generally during the morning, but I am flexible and we could agree a new schedule together.
  • Work requirements: I ask my helpers to be honest and trustable (sometimes they could work by their own), flexible (sometimes work can be different from what agreed, depending on weather conditions or other unexpected events), and willing to talk if something goes wrong or different from what expected (better to talk and change plans, than going on with misunderstanding).
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 or 2 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Not okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Spanish, Portuguese
  • Has pets? I have one dog, Mina (as the old one, Billo, recently died) and two cats, Tigre and Macchia: they are funny, cuddly and adventurous.... while the forest is inhabited by deers, boars, badgers, hares, porcupines... and snakes (so bring closed shoes, please)
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Hosts will have their private room (2/3 beds), common bathroom.
    I live in a countryhouse, 3km away from any food shop.
  • Additional info
  • You can reach me by train to Cesena + bus (direction Bagno di Romagna, bus stop Montepetra) or train to Rimini + bus (direction Novafeltria, last bus stop), then we will pick you up.
    Nearby you can have wonderful TREKKINGS on the hills/mountains (400/1.400mt) or HORSE ridings, you can visit medieval little towns (Sant'Agata Feltria, San Leo... all reachable by local transports) or NATURAL PARKS...
    if you are obsessed from CLIMBING, you will love the rocks around Perticara (3.5 km far)!