Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Goats and Chickens and Pig Named Helen

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur hobby farm is between Concrete and Rockport on highway 20. The nearest stop light is 35 miles down river going west. The pass is closed 1/2 the year, so in the winter we essentially live on a 100-mile-long dead-end road. I would like general help around the house, in the garden, and tending to the animals. We have 4 goats, 6 chickens, a 400lb pig named Helen (she's awesome), 4 tiny dogs, and 1 cat that rules them all. Our animals are pets, not food. These hills are populated with a lot of aging hippies and a few right-wing wack-jobs. We've have a few ambitions and need your help. On the wooded part of our property we'd like to build some tree houses for guests. I'm going back to school to become a chef because we plan on opening a restaurant soon. You'll have your own room and 3/4 bath. Let's talk and figure out how we can help each other out. We are not religious and you won't be happy here if you are.
  • LocationUnited States, Washington, Skagit County, Concrete

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day Not full-time, that's for sure. I want you to live your life and enjoy yourself. This is the best place on earth IMHO. I'm thinking maybe 10-15 hrs of help a week? All utilities and internet are covered.
  • Work requirements: You should be able to lift 50lbs on your own, and not have a bad back. I have a bad back, so you'll be picking up my slack.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: We're open, short or long term
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? The 4 dogs and the cat live in the home.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Private bedroom and private 3/4 bathroom. Lightly furnished.
  • Additional info
  • We're kind of wacky, and enjoy other wacky people. We only need one helper but are open to accommodating a couple if the fit is right.