Experience life in Boston while improving your English

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Experience life in Boston while improving your English

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI am Izzy, I live in beautiful Boston and share my house with guests from all over the world. I am located just 2 metro stops from downtown Boston which makes it a perfect opportunity for any one who wants to experience city life in one of the best cities in the US. I am an active traveler myself and love to meet new people and learn about their cultures. I would describe myself as very easy going and open minded.

    This listing is ideal for people wanting to learn about American culture by living in one of its historical cities. Especially for those looking to improve their English.
  • LocationUnited States, Massachusetts, Suffolk County, Boston

  • Work
  • Type of work The help mainly entails house sitting. Looking after the house doing general cleaning and helping set up the rooms for the upcoming guests.
  • Hours per day The tasks around the house are preferably done between noon to 3pm, so you can have the rest of the day to yourself and the city at your feet. The total amount time spent on tasks is between 10 -20 hours a week.
  • Work requirements: We prioritize volunteers that are RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and are great COMMUNICATORS.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Couple of months
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English, Russian, Spanish
  • Has pets? No pets
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: My place is located literally two subway stops from downtown Boston and the station is only at a 7 minute walking distance form my house, so you will have easy access to and from the city. The house is located in a very convenient neighborhood with a large supermarket, convenience stores and a large selection of cafe's and restaurants located within walking distance just a few blocks away. You will have a private room and a small food stipend. There is very quick wi-fi in the house and cable tv, in case you decide to spend your day in. There is also a washer and dryer in the house.
  • Additional info
  • During your time off you have a myriad of options of things to do in the city. During the summer besides sightseeing i the city you can go to the beach which is also easily accessible with the metro. There are also multiple parks with stunning skyline views of Boston just 15-20 min walking distance from my house.

    Besides practice English with me there are plenty opportunities for you to practice the language in the city. Since most of the people whom I have hosted were interested in learning English, I have compiled a list of free and paid English Classes in the city that have been attended and recommended by previous workawayers.