Enjoy north Norway and care for rescued pets

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Dorota Kantorowicz-Bardzinska

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Enjoy north Norway and care for rescued pets

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionIf you like nature and animals, but wish to keep some contact with the civilisation this will be perfect for you.
    We are two friends living in Narvik (northern Norway) about 45 min drive from eachother. We both love and have animals. Me: an adopted blind dog and five rescued guinea pigs. Bente (my friend) three dogs and some wild moose :-).
    I am used to people from various backgrounds and cultures as i was active hosting travellers (couchsurfing) and travelled quite a bit myself. You can learn norwegian if you wish and I can happily share with you my experience with moving to and living in Norway, as well as my travel stories, if you are interested. Bente is also very interesting to talk to as well as having great interest in other cultures.
    There is an abundance of opportunities for hiking, skiing and fishing right outside the door.
  • LocationNorway, Nordland, Narvik

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day Max 4h a day manday to friday and 1,5h a day on weekends.
  • Work requirements: I need mainly help with the piggies, as I am allergic to their fur, and some cooking. I woud also like you to walk the dog once a day. In winter, I would ask you to move the snow, if it is necessary and in summer to mow the lawn (once a month). When I am not at home, I would like you to take care of the house and animals (including the dog), so you need to be an animal lover.
    Bente needs help mainly in the not-winter period - different tasks on her property.
    You don't need any special skills but a big heart for the animals and people around you.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: At least one month
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:Polish, Norwegian, English
  • Has pets? I have one dog and five guinea pigs and Bente has three dogs.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: I am living in the town close to everything, but still in a very quiet area, close to the shore. You will have your own bedroom and share the rest of the house with me.
    Bente lives outside Narvik in the mountains, at the end of a valey called RĂ¥ndalen. Very beautiful place 45 min drive from Narvik. When you wish to stay some days in the woods with Bente, you will have your own room and bathroom. We will provide you with transport.
  • Additional info
  • I have great experience as a couchsurfing host, so I am used to metting new people and having them in my house.
    When I came two Norway I was staying 1,5 years with a Norwegian family as aupair, so I also know it from that side.
    I would like you to stay at least three months, but if it works for both of us you can stay as long if you wish.
    If you are two that want to travel together, probably we can arrange for that.
    No smoking at home.
    Just ask if you have any questions.