Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Duskhunter Cottage Plymouth/Dartmoor N.Park

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI have two dogs, three cats, 7 chickens, and 21 ducks with three ducklings. A very large garden which is open to the public in aid of a hospice which is where people with terminal illness can spend their last days.
    You have to be an animals lover to come here some of them are rescued and I believe they all have a right to a good life, not spoiled but well treated - my outside animals run freely around the place and their eggs are very good as a result.
    Surrounding are here is picturesque and I take the dogs out on Dartmoor most days, you are most welcome to join us and see the area, we also have bicycles for you to use.
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, Devon

  • Work
  • Type of work I am looking for help with all aspects of this life style which can vary from repairs to the outbuildings, looking after animals and the garden, cleaning up generally seeing to whatever needs doing if the weather has been unkind there are repairs sometimes even on the house.
  • Hours per day five and a half hours for five days a week and then two days off
  • Work requirements: This is more for outside work and wouldn't suit anyone who is not fit.

    Most of the work at the moment is gardening to help get the garden up to a good standard and keep it there ready for public viewing.

    I do have things that have been causing problems like at outside tap a hole in the roof of the garage and the animal feed shed.

    Odd things like this and then when we have strong winds the covering to the bird houses is ripped to pieces and needs replacing
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: on going but 12 days or more preferably
  • Maximum number of helpers: 5
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Two dogs,
    Three cats.
    fish in aquarium and also outside pond
    7 chickens and 23 ducks are also pets all have names and some can be picked up.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: two double room and one single
  • Additional info
  • Bathroom is shared between helpers but you have a lounge with tv, unlimited wi fi connection.

    I am 7 miles from Plymouth city centre and two from Dartmoor national park. Surrounded by farmland and with good views over the surrounding countryside, it is peaceful here but if you want city life it is a bus ride away. The bus is a one mile walk from the cottage but there is everything you need one and a half miles away where there is a big superstore and other shops, you don't have to go into Plymouth for anything if you don't want to.