Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Annemaree Docking

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Dalhousie Farm

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHello Intrepid Traveller! Dalhousie Farm is a small farm that produces pastured eggs, runs horses and cattle, has a small market garden and olive grove and is generally a fun place to be (well - I think so anyway!). It is run according to permaculture and agroecological principles (which I'm always learning about and improving). I'd love some extra help on the farm and there is plenty to do. There is many different tasks and projects to choose from depending on what you're skilled in or feel like doing. Gardening, fencing, animal keeping, horse work, fencing, cutting firewood, harvesting veggies, cooking, packing eggs - the list is endless and sometimes a little overwhelming! But I'm also keen to meet interesting and like minded people from around the world. It's hard to travel with the responsibility of the farm, so it would be nice to bring a little of the world to the farm! I have a comfortable mudbrick cottage with a guest room and separate bathroom for helpers. Single person or couple happy to share the room would be best.
  • LocationAustralia, Victoria, Mitchell Shire, Willowmavin

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Art project
    Building
    Cooking / Shopping
    Farmstay
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with eco project
    Other
  • Hours per day Happy to exchange food and board for four hours work a day. Day to day cooking and cleaning is outside of these hours.
  • Work requirements: I'm open to a range of skills and abilities. The biggest thing I ask is for people to be willing and enthusiastic. I'm very flexible with what people may want to be involved with according to their skills and interests as long as they are contributing.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Anytime
  • Duration of stay: Minimum of a week stay
  • Maximum number of helpers: 2
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Yes - there are many animals on the farm, but the house has two dogs and a cat that live inside and out - and take many liberties, including sleeping on couches!
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Guest room with a double bed and own bathroom
  • Additional info
  • No additional info provided