Cultral exchange in the south of France

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Cultral exchange in the south of France

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe are a couple from Yorkshire who have relocated to Carcassonne, France where we plan to run a small Chambre d'hote and have a separate house where we live with our little daughter, 5 year old Eve who you will meet and no doubt be dragged to the local park to play with.

    This year we are looking for a couple/individual to stay with us to help with housework and with the family etc while we are the running the place; we found last year that the longer folk stayed the better the stay was. It gave more time to explore, get to know us and integrate into the life in France :-)

    We realise that 1+ months is a longer time than most helper experiences and that is a real commitment so we have changed a few things around to make the stay as good as possible and allow you to really integrate and experience this area of France with our family; including use of a lovely on site en-suite.

    We are based on the banks of the river opposite the castle so ideal for walks and exploring; we can give you tips on what to do, how to get about cheaply to the coast and into the mountains if you want to go further afield. We also have loads of outdoor gear from tents to ropes to bikes so you can explore the great countryside in this area of France/Spain.

    Carcassonne is famous for its magnificent castle and old town; nearby are the beautiful black mountains full of Cathar history, the Pyrenees for the big mountain experience and the Mediterranean with all its lovely beaches. Plus Spain is next door :-)

    If you would like to immerse yourself in France and its culture get in touch
  • LocationFrance, Occitanie, Aude, Carcassonne

  • Work
  • Type of work Babysitting / Childcare
    Help in the house
    Helping with tourists
  • Hours per day We ask for the recommended 5 hours per day, this is usually mid morning to early afternoon. It may include picking our daughter up from school at 5pm on occasion.
  • Work requirements: Enthusiastic, responsible, some experience of working with the public if possible but mainly a good attitude and a smile.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: one month
  • Maximum number of helpers: 1
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english french
  • Has pets? No
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: large en-suite room in the main house.
  • Additional info
  • We have both travelled extensively and really enjoy the company of people who are doing the same.