Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Community social enterprise with volunteer opportunities

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHello and welcome to Malaysia!
    We are situated in a suburb called Ampang, a small mixed race village (kampung) setting about 8kms from Petronas Twin Towers. Our neighbours comprise of Malays, Chinese, Indians, Indonesians and some aborigine people too. We are well connected and close enough to the city but still far enough to see wild civet cats and hear the crickets at night.
    We are a totally new social enterprise concept – think homestay, backpacker's hostel and volunteering residence rolled into one. The house attracts all sorts of people and in the past 4 years we have met some of the most creative, positive, colourful and loving people with the greatest vibe. And that is what we want, a house that is not defined by style or 5 star comfort but made up of every volunteers’ energy. Mi casa su casa. Discipline and respect are the key words here and if you are someone who is lazy and messy and with an attitude, please give this a pass.
  • LocationMalaysia, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur

  • Work
  • Type of work Your schedule look like this :
    7.00 am - 8.00 am -- -- Breakfast
    8.00am - 8.45am -- -- Helping with housekeeping. This is a 30 minutes shared duty among all volunteers.

    9 am Monday & Wednesday - Conversational English with adult Refugees

    9am Tuesday & Thursday - swimming with special needs children (Austistic & Down's Syndrome)

    9pm Thursday night - cut and wash hair of homeless people.

    9am Friday - Conversational English with adult Refugees

    Pet care - we have 4 resident dogs and a cat. Feeding times are 7.30am and 7.30 pm, daily walks after dinner. In between, they would love some cuddles, play time and a weekly bath.

    Saturday and Sunday are off days.
  • Hours per day we like to keep volunteering up to 5 hours a day everyday so we ask that you be committed during these hours. After that, you're welcome to explore the city or chill with a book.
  • Work requirements:
    QUALITIES YOU MUST POSSESS
    - excellent leadership qualities
    - self-motivated, enterprising and willing to learn new skills
    - possess initiative
    - attention to detail, reliable
    - hardworking, trustworthy, a fast learner, responsible
    - able to get along with all types of personalities and cultures
    - able to drink responsibly
    - able to listen and follow instructions.

    Your behaviour influences a lot of the local people's ideas about the western world so we ask you to be sensitive to culture and customs. The local people will appreciate your sensitivity towards their culture, lifestyles and beliefs. Be respectful at all times and offer your assistance to your host or staff whenever possible. You must have a broad mind for cultural differences. Ladies, please take note that we have a dress code. Kindly bring appropriate clothes that will cover your knees and shoulders.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: All year round
  • Duration of stay: One month and more
  • Maximum number of helpers: 16
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? We have 4 dogs, a cat and a rescued bat. Bruce, the bat, comes and goes but thr rest are residents. They are all rescued, fully vaccinated and dewormed. They are well behaved and indoor dogs.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We are equipped with:
    - 16 bunk beds mixed dorm style with fans in every room
    - 2 Western toilets, 2 outdoor showers
    - Communal kitchen with filtered water, fridge, freezer, kettle, juicer and gas stove
    - Internet access/WIFI, desktop and laptop
    - Movie nights
    - Night market 2 times per week
    - 24 hour laundromat nearby
    - 24 hour restaurants nearby
    - Supermarket nearby
    - Gym (RM5 per entry)
    - 5 minute walk to bus stop with buses to Chinatown and LRT station every 10 minutes
    - BBQ pit
    - Mud oven
    - Cinema and mall 10 mins away by bus
  • Additional info
  • 1. APPLICATION
    Check in and check out are on Saturdays before 6pm. If for any reason you can’t arrive on Saturday, please get in touch to discuss arrival dates and times.

    2. ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY
    - We have a curfew from midnight to 7am.
    - Female volunteers are required to cover their knees and shoulders.
    - No drugs allowed in the house (including marijuana)

    3. MEALS
    We provide 3 basic meals per day. Usually we cook when we have time or volunteers take turns cooking. We live as a community so whoever cooks has to cook for everyone and everyone who doesn’t cook helps by cleaning up. Food is vegetarian. Breakfast is toast, butter, kaya, oatmeal, coffee/tea. If you want something more like eggs, milk, peanut butter or fruits, you can buy them for yourself at the local store but these come under your own personal purchases. Please don't finish the host's food. If you do, please have the common sense to replace it. Please label all of your food. Please note that we do not provide snacks, please buy your own and label them.

    Please get in touch with us should you need more information. Cheers!