Come to beautiful Lunigiana

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Come to beautiful Lunigiana

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe are an English couple who have now relocated to Italy and started renovating an old Tuscan farmhouse with a view to it being used as a home and possible retreat with the aim of becoming self sufficient and ecological as possible.
    We have started to take on Helpers for the coming year so please get in touch if you are interested in coming any time this year..There is normally 2-4 Helpx so there is a good atmosphere
    We have an existing cottage on the land which we renovated several years ago and is now our home You will have your own bedroom in a separate apartment in the main farmhouse with its own kitchen and bathroom Its in good condition During the week we normally all eat together We have wifi and a beautiful terrace with views of Apennine and Apuane mountains .

    We have a small fruit orchard and olive trees, wild boar and porcini mushroom are in abundance in our area
    We live about 4 kilometres from nearest town which is very untouristic and full of character.
    We would suggest it's best if you have your own transport but its not essential. We are only 30 minutes from the sea and 'Cinque Terra' and it is an hour from Pisa/Lucca and two hours from Florence We are both vegan and love to make interesting meals and hope you will embrace in that.We love walking and would love to show you an undiscovered part of Italy famous for food and foraging for porcini mushrooms. Come and join us on our 'great escape' in an undiscovered part of Tuscany!!
  • LocationItaly, Toscana, Provincia di Massa e Carrara

  • Work
  • Type of work The work is varied and includes clearing land, renovating the house. There will be lots of stone work and carpentry later this summer
    We also want help with the vegetable garden and generally keeping the place picked up cutting grass,strimming etc .
  • Hours per day We work for 5 hours work per day in exchange for board and lodgings. We work from 8am to 1pm If you stay for an extended period we would expect you to look after yourself at the weekends but all food is included
  • Work requirements: We prefer Helpx with some building/ land skills and who are happy to get involved in this type of work. Couples are very welcome as much help his needed in kitchen and garden. Some of it is hard work but we aim to have fun and hope you make lots of new friends
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Minimum stay must be 7 days
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English and Italian
  • Has pets? No
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have an existing cottage on the land which we renovated several years ago and is now our home You will have your own bedroom in a separate apartment with its own kitchen and bathroom
  • Additional info
  • We are Vegetarian and would hope that you will take part in that diet with us