Come and stay with a 'typical'? london family!

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Come and stay with a 'typical'? london family!

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionI live at home with my friendly family! Mum & Dad (retired), sister (primary school teacher) and her daughter. if you want to experience what life is like for a 'typical'? London family living in the suburbs (not the centre), we'd love to have you join us!

    Come and join us in the artistic hub of Walthamstow (Zone 3). I welcome volunteers who are interested in a genuine exchange of culture, language and skills. I embarked on a project last years to fixup the house as a golden jubilee present to my parents, which is now complete, however ongoing help for my parents with domestics and gardening would be appreciated. Hippos would have a home whilst sharing my philosophy of exploring life
    and work as an ongoing meditation practice. In exchange, they’ve shared their cultures, skills, cuisines, and lifestyles with us. We love to host people who are independent and creative, balancing a curiosity to learn new skills with the freedom to think for themselves.

    My current focus is on general maintenance and cleaning, preference will be given to volunteers with DIY skills and who are able to be independent and possess an ability to see what regular things need doing and take care of them as I work from 8am - 8pm, most of your contact will be with mum & dad, I can accommodate three single individuals in our house.

    IMPORTANT: You must be at least 20 years old, or have lived abroad, medical insurance and at least intermediate English or another language we can communicate in :). I generally
    offer an initial trial period of a week and then together we can discuss the arrangement and agree the duration of your stay, longer term stays preferred, please be sure to check our calendar before applying.

    We're a traditional muslim family, so please don't bring any alcohol/pork, sometimes we eat together as a family (and even extended on a weekly basis), but this depends on schedules, please come under the assumption that you'll make your own meals (ingredients will be provided :).

    Walthamstow, voted London's borough of culture for 2019, is a multicultural and artistic area where you can find a range of delicious food options, from Thai and Indian to 'right proper' east London pubs and cafes.

    While you will have plenty of privacy and free time, there is always a good bit of banter between me, my friends, and sometimes guests from around the world. If you’re an open-minded and curious person looking to experience and share new things, I invite you to contact us!

    Messages not written in english will not be responded to, sorry, but google translate can help :)
  • LocationUnited Kingdom, England, Greater London

  • Work
  • Type of work Elderly care
    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
  • Hours per day flexible on time of day, but around 25 hours a week.
  • Work requirements: no alcohol or pork in the house, home by 11
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1 month minimum
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english, french, urdu
  • Has pets? no
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: A spare room in Walthamstow (one of the suburbs of london) with a bed, in my family house with a shared bathroom. It takes 15 mins to get to the tube, and 45 mins from there to Oxford Circus, although with Covid and my at risk parents we'd prefer if you don't use public transport and use the bike which takes an hour to Oxford Circus.
  • Additional info