Casual staff wanted for stunning remote wilderness lodge

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Casual staff wanted for stunning remote wilderness lodge

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe're a family of 5 running a lodge built in 1868, we took it over in 2000 and restored it lovingly. There are heritage rooms, YHA associated backpacker rooms, a cosy restaurant, EcoScapes, and in the summer we have kayak trips and transport to the trailheads.

    We're looking for enthusiastic people not afraid of hard work and able to work independently. A 3 week minimum is requested due to the training we put in, and staff need to be fluent English speakers for ease of communication.

    The main tasks would consist of cleaning (rooms, kitchen, bathrooms, toilets etc.) and housekeeping (making over beds, assisting with laundry etc.)

    Sometimes we need help in our cute but very busy cafe/gift shop in Glenorchy with a B&B in the garden. Help includes serving food & drinks, taking orders and cleaning the B&B.

    Other work may include general maintenance/odd jobs, such as chopping wood, cutting branches, mowing lawns, weeding etc. If you have certain skills we will try our best to use them.

    We prefer to hire full time staff from our pool of casual staff, this could be you!
  • LocationNew Zealand, Otago, Kinloch

  • Work
  • Type of work Gardening
    General maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with tourists
    Other
  • Hours per day We ask for 2hrs work a day, paid at minimum wage ($17.70) + holiday pay, then we take off $33.73 to cover your accommodation. So you have plenty of time to explore or relax when your shift is done! Extra hours possibly for the right people.
  • Work requirements: By law all helpers are contracted as casual staff. Therefore you must have the following:

    IRD number
    Work visa/permit
    Bank account

    Non-smokers only.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: At least 3 weeks
  • Maximum number of helpers: 3
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? In our house we have 2 dogs and 2 cats but helpers do not live in our home, although they may be invited to visit
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: Accommodation is either in a shared 2 person bunk room, 2 share cabins/sleepouts or private cabin/sleepout for couples. You'll have free high speed wifi, access to our kayaks, bicycles, fishing rods and the hot tub!

    You organise and cook your own groceries in the fully-equipped self-catering guest kitchen. If you don't have a car we can help arrange groceries for you.
  • Additional info
  • We're surrounded by hikes, the major ones being the Routeburn, Greenstone/Caples and Rees/Dart, as well as many day hikes. There are lots of activities in the area, we have kayaks, bikes and fishing rods for use. For relaxing there's a TV room with over 200 DVDs, a book exchange, a lounge where you can meet guests, and our hot tub with amazing lake and mountain views.