Beach Life&Work

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Elke Henriette Huber

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Beach Life&Work

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionHello!
    We are a small business consisting of 6 beach cottage rentals, a farm market business and Take Out on the Beach. Our open season runs from may-october.. We are also busy in the spring opening up the places and getting them ready for rent. We also have a booth at the Wolfville Farmers Market, where we sell Breakfast Croissant Sandwiches, Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Carrot Cake, Lemonade, Roasted Potatoes, Schnitzel Burger and Salmon Ciabatta. Our family consists of Oma (79), Opa (81), Teenager Emma (14) and me, Elke (46). We all work together at this, are generous people, who appreciate and know if others work hard. We still have stuff to do in October with closing up cottages and tightening it all up for the winter.
    We have done helpx now for three years, having met amazing travellers from China, Australia, France, Philippines, Germany and Italy. Travellers have their own room with own bathroom. The house is always warm, welcome and stocked with food.
  • LocationCanada, Nova Scotia, Lunenburg County, Hubbards

  • Work
  • Type of work Carpentry, mowing, clipping, gardening, painting, stacking wood, cooking, housekeeping, cleaning, running errands, caulking, walking dogs...
  • Hours per day about 6 hours per day. time depends on the chore that needs to be done. If we need help at the farm market, which starts saturdays at 8.30 - 1.30, then this is the time for that saturday. If it says rain in the afternoon, we need to mow all morning.
  • Work requirements: I only have one requirement: respect and honesty and give back what you receive. Food is very expensive in NS and we do not differentiate what we eat and what a helper eats. We do not feed people "crap" and try to get cheap labour. We provide great accommodation on the Ocean and good food, we expect a good days work in return, meaning not smoking or being on the phone texting half of the work time.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: helper needs to stay at least one week
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english, german
  • Has pets? we have 2 dogs and 1 cat
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: queen beds, own room, private bath, wifi everywhere
  • Additional info
  • we are very busy people. we will not run after you and take your work apart. we are a family of workers, not supervisors. we appreciate someone who works with us, lends a helping hand when needed, without having to be told and does a good job. someone who is cheerful and likes to laugh. someone who gets up in the morning and smiles back. someone who tries their best and is not afraid to learn and grow. example: you might have to run the take out in the summer. we learn every year from our helpers and we hope they learn from us also. all we have at the end of the day are our memories and they better be good ones.