Balnamoon Croft

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Jasmin Bray Triance

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Balnamoon Croft

  • Marker details
  • Description(looking for help after august 2020)
    We are working to improve our wooded croft land situated in the Buchan area of Aberdeenshire near the north-east coast of Scotland. Our 16 acre patch is mostly native woodland. we keep a small brood of chickens.We also have 3 lovely cats and an old German Shepard who still thinks she's a pup!
    We have two paddocks that we have previously let out for grazing.In the future the paddocks might be used for our own wee flock of sheep or alpacas with the intention of using and selling the wool. We grow a lot of our own veg with the use of our polytunnel and outside veg plot.These past few years I have also became interested in keeping seed and preserving to great success and some failures (go permaculture!)

    When we are not doing work on the croft , we are usually rehearsing in the converted steading , music being another big focus in our lives.

    Although we both work independently of the croft, the idea one day is that Balnamoon Croft is a self-sustaining business that we can put all our energy into and share with others who also have a passion for self-sufficiency , preserving nature and creative exploration.





  • LocationUnited Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeenshire

  • Work
  • Type of work Animal care
    Art project
    Building
  • Hours per day negotiable but would expect about 4-5 hours so you have leaisure time as well . It might be long days then days off , just what suits at the time but this will be discussed before your stay.
  • Work requirements: The idea is to work and live more self-sufficiently whilst inviting activities which respect the natural environment that we live in. Some ideas we would like to develop with the help of volunteers are : managing the woodland for outdoor activity sessions , a space for wild camping, creating an easy-access wildlife garden ,pathways, conservation,extending and improving vegetable plot,repairing fencing, the building of A-Frame off-grid huts etc Generally the work will vary depending on what time of year you are coming and what we need help with the most , but we will let you know whats needed and hopefully you will end up doing something that really utilizes your skills and that you enjoy!.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: a minimum of a week , but if we have a project in mind that will take longer we will let you know.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Not okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? yes - a dog and 3 cats . my mother also has a cat . they live in seperate dwelling to that of the volunteers.
    Also free ranging hens and ducks.
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: We have a private, detached dwelling known as 'the Theshing Barn' that sits on the court yard next to our home. It has 1 double bedroom/en-suite bathroom and a kitchen/livingarea. For additional volunteers we also have a sofa bed in the living area.Camping also available in the summer. Inside the barn there is a wood burning stove that is used to heat water and radiators.There is also gas hobs to cook on in the kitchen. The lighting system is partially run off-grid via wind power. Solar power in the summer! We are intending on turning the barn into an air BnB however the accommodation for volunteers will always be free . Parking available in courtyard . We will provide a bit of a welcome pack with fresh home baked bread,fresh veggies (seasonal of course!) free-range eggs and also some sundries for the kitchen like tea, coffee etc. Will also leave general toiletries for you in the bathroom as well as clean bedding and towels. for wifi , you would have to go visit our neighbours 2 minutes down the road (they are the lovely folk who own the cafe they wont mind) as we just use mobile data.
  • Additional info
  • We live on the side of an old peatmoss which is now a sssi and haven for wildlife , particularly bird life . One of the thing we boast most about our place is the stunning panoramic view, but you will have to see it for yourself! A public path runs from the bottom of our track out on the moss and round to the local village New Pitsligo which is about 30 minute walk away. In New Pitsligo there is a small village shop which is pretty good considering the size of the village .There is also 3 takeaways and two restaurants/pubs!New Pitsligo does have a local bus service however it is infrequent! We have a pretty extensive knowledge of local sights having lived here all our lives particularly the local fishing villages and cliff side walks etc (we are about a 10 minute drive from the coast)
    We may live in the middle-of-nowhere however our good neighbors run a vegan cafe and have build some pretty quirky accommodation that they rent out (will have to be seen to be believed) I should probably mention here as well that we practice a healthy vegetarian lifestyle and would prefer if meat was not cooked in the threshing barn for the sake of other future guests.However colds meats and takeaways are permissible if you have to eat meat.