Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Amoraleza Community Project

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionWe are a high raw, vegetarian family with four children, ages 9, 5 and 3 and 1 year old. We are also building a small community dedicated to healthy living, sustainability, permaculture, shamanism and spiritual development and are looking to share with enthusiastic people with similar interests.

    We hold sacred medicine ceremonies, retreats, festivals, gatherings, workshops and other events. We usually have a lot of people living with us during the Spring and the Summer and in the colder months, it is much quieter, sometimes just our family and 1 or 2 other people.

    We live on a beautiful 4 hectare finca 15 minutes drive from Lanjaron and 30 minutes drive from Orgiva. The finca has large terraces, a spring-fed alberca (swimming pool) and more than 100 olive trees, almonds, kakis, figs and a variety of young fruit trees we have planted in the 10 years we have lived on the land. All our living spaces are low-impact structures such as yurts, teepees, wooden huts and a caravan. We have a 12 metre dome which we use as a ceremony and workshop space.

    In our way of living we try to stay as close to nature as possible and do not allow the use of alcohol or drugs on the premises. Our space is strictly vegetarian (no meat or fish) and all communal meals are gluten and sugar free and we avoid processed foods. Many of the visitors we host come here to heal themselves through diet and let go of addictions (especially unhealthy food addictions). For this reason, we ask all volunteers to respect this diet during their stay and not to bring any of the foods we avoid into the community and we cannot host smokers.

    The living conditions are quite basic and we live mostly outdoors. There are compost toilets and outdoor showers with hot water. There is an outdoor shared kitchen space and internet access (but no wi-fi). We have limited solar energy in the communal kitchen, where it is possible to charge phones, ipods, etc. and candles are used to light helpers' spaces.
  • LocationSpain, Andalucía, Granada, Órgiva

  • Work
  • Type of work Media help
  • Hours per day 4 hours a day
  • Work requirements: At least 5 years of professional experience.
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: Minimum 2 weeks, which can be extended if things work out well
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:english, french, spanish, portuguese
  • Has pets? Cats
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: All our living spaces are low-impact structures such as yurts, teepees, wooden huts and a caravan. When these spaces are full, we can sometimes welcome extra volunteers who are happy to stay in tents.
  • Additional info