Almond Harvest for a traveling couple in the beautiful Mclaren Vale wine region

Work and travel

Hippohelp is a free platform connecting travellers with hosts. Hosts create volunteer opportunities across the globe where travellers can work in exchange for food and accommodation. Join our fantastic community today!

  Continue with Facebook
or
Register Log In

Hostmarker

Papershell Farm

Host

References

Log in or register to check

Almond Harvest for a traveling couple in the beautiful Mclaren Vale wine region

  • Marker details
  • DescriptionOur names are Jess & Surahn and we own and live on a 10 acre almond orchard in Willunga called Papershell Farm, in the world famous McLaren Vale wine region.

    We live here with our two sons, 4yr old Teddy and 5 month old Bowie, 2 sheep and chooks.

    We’re looking for fit and enthusiastic people to help us harvest our almonds, amongst a variety of other farm tasks from the beginning of Feb to March...ideally 1-4 weeks help. Almond harvest is done the old fashioned way, by hand, so we are gentle on the land, and is a great work out! You will be knocking the trees with a mallet, and using bamboo sticks to knock almonds onto sheets. Other farm tasks include: driving the tractor, slashing, hulling and cracking almonds, irrigation, and helping with fruit and veg gardens.

    We require help for an average of 5 hours a day, but we’re pretty flexible. Some days might be longer when we’re harvesting, but there’ll be days off as well. Harvest is also weather dependent, ie. if it rains, we can’t harvest!

    We have two accommodation options, both ideal for a traveling couple.
    The first is an upstairs Lodge, separated from the main house and fully self contained with a queen bed, tv, bathroom, kitchen, balcony, dining area etc. This normally operates as a successful Airbnb (with a 5 star rating!).
    We have a week available in the Lodge in for the first week of February.

    We also have a bedroom available inside our newly renovated homestead. It has a queen bed with new linen and towels, ducted airconditioning, a desk & built in wardrobe as well as access to the main living areas, kitchen, bathroom, laundry etc. There are two bathrooms in the homestead, one of which will be for the workers. We also have unlimited NBN Wifi.

    Food will be provided, but we expect help with kitchen duties like washing up. We both love cooking, so meals will be home cooked and good quality! Surahn makes a delicious curry and I love to bake, make jams, pickled vegetables etc.
    We also have a bounty of fruit and veg growing in our market garden and we can show you how to propagate seed!

    Surahn is a well travelled recording artist, writer and producer and has a recording studio next to the homestead. The studio has a pool table and darts board. If you have musical talents, Surahn would love to have a play in the studio with you! We have drums, keyboards, organs, guitars, mics - you name it!

    There is also a yoga studio on the farm with classes running on Mondays.

    We have a couple of bikes that we can provide, and are happy to do short drop offs and pick ups. We’re 45 mins away from the city and there is a train in Seaford, which is a 10 minute drive from our farm.

    We love our little sanctuary, set amongst the rolling vineyards of the wine region. We’re fives minutes away from some of the most beautiful beaches, as well as being close to the magnificent hiking trails and forests. Willunga is a fantastic community, with lots to do and see!
  • LocationAustralia, South Australia, City of Onkaparinga, Willunga

  • Work
  • Type of work Farmstay
  • Hours per day 4-5 hours - but we are flexible. Typically in the morning, 8am- 12
  • Work requirements: Physically fit
  • Host's preferences
  • Availability: Send a message to inquire.
  • Duration of stay: 1-4 weeks.
  • Maximum number of helpers: 4
  • Last minute requests: Okay
  • Host
  • Languages:English
  • Has pets? Two sheep and and chooks
  • Smokes at home? No
  • Accommodation: A beautiful self contained Lodge (listed on Airbnb as Papershell Lodge ) with a 5 star rating. It has its own bathroom, kitchen, living area.

    A room inside our house with a queen bed, desk, new linen, WiFi and access to our newly renovated homestead.
  • Additional info
  • www.papershellfarm.com